‘Basketball Is One Of The Things I’m Very Good At – MI

M,I

M,I

Jude Abaga, popularly known as MI has proven over the years
the accolades and awards showered on him is deserved. MI
may be short, but he’s a mighty man when it comes to music.
Fans have been waiting for a new work from him, and now MI
says his new album is almost here, but first some singles.
On the new album to drop in a just a few months’ time, MI
says he worked with some artistes on the new album. He
believes collaborations make an artiste better.
“In music especially, no man is an island. So, it is important to
work with the best people to create the best music because
without that, you might end up creating a sub-standard
product,” MI told PM news.
According to MI, his experiences in the country provided him
with enough materials for the new album.
“I got the inspiration for that popular track on my second
album, My Belle, My Head, while driving and observing
hawkers on the streets of Lagos. We have gone through
different experiences in this country and all these will make
enough materials for my new album.”
He added; “Also, working with the best can help come up with
great product. The experience I had working with great
people on my last album really helped. Working with people
like 2Face Idibia on my last album makes a great difference
in the totality of the end product.”
There have been rumours making rounds that MI is leaving
Chocolate City group, a company where he’s a director
because of the new label he set up, but MI reveals he’s not
leaving Choc City despite starting Loopy Music.
“At a certain point, I realised that God has given me
opportunities, resources and talent and I want to see how
best I can put all these into use that will be helpful to others.
So, I thought it will be proper for me to put a chunk of my
investment into people. I know that it is more of a gamble
when you invest in people. However, when the returns come,
they could be phenomenal. That was why I decided to start
this label and I am happy it is growing well,” MI said.
He assured fans he’d still remain at Chocolate City. “I always
tell people that Chocolate City is my mother, while Loopy
music is my daughter. Chocolate City is definitely where I am
coming from and where I belong. But I honestly believe that
in Nigeria, everyone has to multi-task. That is by the way. At
Loopy music, I am not the Chief Executive Officer. I hired
some professionals to run the label. I only dash in to oversee
what goes on there. But I run the day-to-day activities of
Chocolate City.”
About the new label, Loopy Music, MI says; “We have an
international vision and we are working so hard to achieve it.
But basically, Loopy music will focus on those arts that might
not be getting proper props in the Nigerian music industry
now. At Loopy Music, we want to focus on those arts that
might be forgotten in our industry now. Everybody is
concerned about party and dance music, but what about
highlife artistes? What about the fuji artistes? What about
the drummers, keyboardists and saxophonists? Who is going
to ensure that those arts continue to remain? Left to our
industry, maybe an artiste like Asa wouldn’t have emerged. If
it was in this present day and age, maybe an artiste like King
Sunny Ade would not have attained the status he is enjoying
now. The truth of the matter is that we still have to focus on
all these basic elements of our music, which is what Loopy
music is all about.”
Loopy Music is moving fast as MI says the label has already
signed on three artistes; “They are Ruby, a soul singer; Tread
Stones, a rock band; and Loose Kenyon, a rapper.”
MI thinks it’s funny how young artistes these days kind of
outshine their bosses.
“On a lighter mood, I think it is very funny seeing all these
young artistes coming to take the shine off their bosses.
There is Wizkid and Banky W, Wande Coal and Don Jazzy,
and Ice Prince and M.I. I think we need to put a stop to
these. The truth is the best thing that can happen to anyone
is to see someone you believed in, groomed and in whom you
invested so much time, energy and money, becoming a
success.
“At a point, I was beginning to be afraid that it could be
disastrous if any of these boys cannot point to any form of
success. I was really scared. But glory be to God, as every
one that has been part of my journey is working on his own
music and gradually coming out big. That has been my prayer.
Right now, Jesse Jagz and Ice Prince have released their
albums. Brymo recently dropped his and my third album is
also in the making.
“We will soon move to another guy. In fact, Ice Prince has
become an independent artiste. He has become one of the
biggest artistes in the country and I’m so proud of him. And I
believe that is the same with Banky W, 2Face, Don Jazzy,
D’Banj and other big artistes, who have taken one artiste or
the other for mentoring,” MI says.
He’s achieved so much success he attributes to God and he
believes he has to work harder to achieve more, though he’s
grateful for the height he’s attained.
If MI could change anything about him, what would it be? MI
says; “Maybe I should have started doing music earlier in my
life. But honestly, I have been so blessed. But what can I
change? Sometimes, I wish I was a little bit taller. But when
you realise that you are a whole and perfect as God has
imagined you when He created you, any other wish could best
be regarded as almost a sin.”
Even with his height, MI says he balls better than some tall
guys. Someone would say caught the crap, MI, but MI
seriously thinks his height is no barrier when it comes to
playing basket ball. In fact, he says he’s very good at it.
“People laugh at me whenever I tell them that I play
basketball. You need to see me on the court; I play basketball
better than some taller guys. I am even planning a basketball
competition for my fans. So, despite my height, I still play
basketball and it is another thing that I am very good at.

But MI ure a short black dude?

Source: informationng.com

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

