Colour Blocking Or Colour Blockheads?

Enter- It all started sometime around the beginning of this
year, when my eyes began to be assaulted with all sorts of
obnoxious colour riots. Beginning from the Church, I saw all
sorts of weird colour combination and I’m wondering aloud
“Is today colour rag Sunday or something?” and then an
alluring feminine voice replies “No its not rag Sunday, it’s
called colour blocking my dear” and I say to her “This doesn’t
make sense!”a bit irritated she replies “You can’t say that,
what do you know about fashion?” “Oh this is now fashion..?
fashion and madness would sooner than later coincide” I say
to myself, ending the conversation with a wry smile, after
which I try not to be irritated by the myriad of ‘colour
blockers’ that assailed the Church that Sunday and simply
concentrate on GOD!
This was the beginning of many encounters with ‘colour
blockers’ as I often saw them at parties, events, weddings
etc. I remember seeing a lady wearing green dress, blue
shoes, red belt, and pink accessories with a gold clutch bag.
Another one wore turquoise pants, bright stri*ped green
shirt, a brown belt, yellow shoes, bright red accessories and a
black bag and I’m like Jeez! “Some ladies really miss their
kindergarten days” even lil Suri Cruise would do a better job.
Well! I tried to put myself in check because my mouth could
just run at times “Utter nothing” I told myself “its colour
blocking, it’s the new fashion so just shhhh”
And then as time went on, the unimaginable began to happen-
Men who are supposed to teach women sobriety joined the
colour blocking trend. “You’ve got to be kidding me” I said
aloud to the hearing of my friend as I saw a man walk into
Church wearing an orange shirt, yellow tie, checkered pink
blazer, green pocket handkerchief, milk chinos pants, blue
socks and a black shoe. I looked the guy over again to be sure
there wasn’t some voodoo effect on my eyes. My friend who
is an artist quipped ‘This is colour sacrilege!” and as a lover
of the arts myself and one who understands that colours
should be subtly and sweetly contrasted, I concurred.
Another guy in our row also said “If you ask me I think that’s
colour rascality!” “Ah thank God! There is still a remnant of
some sane people in the house” I said to myself upon hearing
those descriptions. Later on that day we saw another guy in a
stri*ped yellow and black pants, blue shirt, lemon suit/blazer
or whatever the heck that stuff he wore on the shirt was,
orange socks, a red and black sneakers. And all I could just
do was just nod in disgust. “Some of these folks should try
wearing this combo to work someday and they will surely
come to terms with the meaning of a permanent vacation” my
friend whispered, and I laughed.
My eyes almost just shut down recently on the plane when a
young girl walked in decked in the most outrageous colour
showdown of the century, her make-up also screamed in an
eerie fashion. She looked like a kindergarten piece of art- if
you know what I mean! And this time there was no stopping
me at all- I just burst into unrestrained laughter; the eyes of
others around also caught this colour blocker as they too
joined in the laughter in what later became a feverish
festival of laughter at the lunacy of colour blocking. One man
with a strong Ibo accent let his mouth run “But na which one
be this style na?” he asked, “oga dem say na colour blocking
o!” someone replied. And almost throughout the 45mins flight
everyone pitched into the colour blocking debate. No need to
bore you with all that went on, but at least it became clear to
me that there were many other people who were thinking just
like me.
One theory I gleaned from the pro colour blockers is that
many accessories and clothing just sit in their wardrobe for
ages since at times it might be difficult to find other
materials that blend. So the idea is instead of just letting
such accessories and clothing sit in the wardrobe, why not
just block them? And then I asked “why buy colours you know
you have no blending colours for?” And then I’m told that not
everyone goes out of their way to buy riotous colours for
blocking, many of such blocking materials are gifts. My
advice?-If you are business inclined- sell or auction out such
stuff, if you are a Father Christmas- give or gift it out and
keep your sanity!.
Because in the final analysis, there is no such thing as “colour
blocking” only “colour blockheads”, “colour rascals” and
“colour comedians”. Now you can take that to the Banks!

Dolapo Ajala Writes From Abuja

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

One thought on “Colour Blocking Or Colour Blockheads?”

  1. Undeniably consider that that you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the web the simplest thing to consider of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed at the same time as other folks consider concerns that they plainly do not understand about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , folks could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thank you

Leave a Reply

