Father Of Siamese Twins Accuses National Hospital Of Killing His Babies

The conjoined twins
given birth to at the
Mararaba Medical
Centre, along Keffi-
Abuja expressway,
have died at the
National Hospital,
Abuja, last weekend
and the father of the
girls, Mr. Ahmed
Sani, 38, has accused
the management of
the hospital of not
acting promptly to separate the set of twins.
Sani, while narrating his ordeal, said during the period the
babies were in the hospital, they were not attended to
neither were they given food for four days.
Sani blames the hospital of negligence which led to his
babies’. He said: “When the babies were referred to the
National Hospital at about 4pm on Thursday, January 3,
2013, the hospital demanded the sum of N20, 000 from us,
which we gave to them. Later they demanded for toiletries
for the babies, which we provided, while they asked me to go
home, and that was on Friday. I went back to the hospital on
Saturday.
“They said they were carrying out some tests and that I
should go and come back on Monday because even if I
decided to come on Sunday, I won’t find anyone to attend to
me. So they demanded my contact which I gave them
including that of my wife and even those of some of my
relatives before I left.
“I went to the hospital on Monday and they apologised for
not being able to reach me, claiming that all efforts to reach
me proved abortive. That was when they told me that the
babies died on Sunday.”
Sani said when he demanded that the corpse of the babies be
released for him to bury according to Islamic rites, the
hospital pleaded with him to return after three hours so that
they could use the dead babies for experiment.
“I came back after three hours and discovered that they had
separated the dead bodies,” he stated.
The public relations officer of the National Hospital, Prince
Tope Haastrup, confirmed that the babies died on Sunday
and were taken to the mortuary. “That is all I have to say, I
can’t speak further on it.”
In a related development, the president of the Nigerian
Medical Association, Dr. Osahon Enabulele, said an
investigation was going to be conducted to determine what
happened at the National Hospital before he could speak on
the matter.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

